By Doug Ward

27th Jan, 2022 | 6:40am

Chris Sutton mocks Rangers controversy as footage emerges in win v Livingston

Alex Lowry almost caught the ball in his own penalty area as Rangers beat Livingston 1-0 at Ibrox on Wednesday, according to Chris Sutton.

Referee Don Robertson ignored Livi’s appeals for a penalty in the first half of the Scottish Premiership clash after the ball made contact with Lowry, 18, in the box before it was collected by goalkeeper Allan McGregor.

Ex-Celtic striker Sutton took to his personal Twitter account after the game on Wednesday to say Lowry “nearly caught it”.

He then, more than likely in a mocking manner, said it was “never a penalty” after sharing footage of the handball incident at Ibrox.

Wind your neck in

Wasn’t Sutton moaning about Rangers for speaking to the Scottish FA about the performances of referees?

Whether you think this is a penalty or not, there’s nothing wrong with clubs holding talks with the SFA when those talks should be constructive for all clubs.

In all honesty, we can see why Livingston players were calling for this penalty.

Lowry is on the line and moves his whole torso towards the ball, therefore his arm moves towards the ball as well.

However, it’s not at all clear whether or not the ball hit his arm or hand in the process before it’s collected by McGregor.

And even if it did hit Lowry’s arm, here’s the view that referee Robertson would have had of the incident in real-time.

It’s clearly obscured and the linesman would have a hard time calling for that one too due to the number of bodies in the box.

If it’s deemed that Robertson was wrong then an incident like this will increase the calls for VAR to be introduced to the game.

But we don’t think it was a penalty.

Sutton would say it was a spot-kick for whoever’s playing against Rangers no matter what happens.

In other Rangers news, one man was rated 3/10 for his shocker against Livingston in our player ratings.