Ally McCoist and Andy Walker clashed on-air in the first half of Rangers’ meeting with Celtic at Parkhead on Sunday afternoon.
Shortly after Mohamed Elyounoussi put the home side ahead in the Old Firm derby, Odsonne Edouard went down in the box after a sliding challenge by Borna Barisic.
However, referee Willie Collum had no hesitation in booking Edouard for simulation.
McCoist backed Collum’s decision and was baffled by Edouard’s failure to shoot and decision to try and win a penalty instead.
Speaking on Sky Sports Football in the first half, McCoist said: “Why does he not hit it, Andy? I can’t believe he doesn’t hit it.”
Ex-Celtic man Walker replied: “Well here, he takes a touch and then [Barisic] comes sliding in. You see him there – I think he touches him slightly and that’s why he goes down.
“I think, like you Ally, I would have been hitting it first time.”
McCoist added: “I’d be hitting it all day. The referee’s right next to him and he took a dive and got a yellow card. I cannot believe he doesn’t hit it first time.”
McCoist and Walker were then at odds over whether or not it was a penalty. As expected, biased Walker claimed it was.
A few minutes later, Walker said: “[Edouard’s] waiting for that sliding challenge, I think that right leg might have caught him ever so slightly.”
McCoist: “No, I’m not sure I’m agreeing with you there, Andy. Yellow card for me, mate. Dive.”
If you’re having to look that closely for contact then you should be able to come to the conclusion that it wasn’t a foul.
Edouard looked for that. If he wasn’t looking for it, then he would have taken a shot and Celtic would have taken a two-goal lead.
Celtic’s exposed our right-hand side a lot in that first half with Leon Balogun clearly struggling.
The home side were perhaps the better team but they could have started to put a major stamp on proceedings if Edouard tried to do what a striker should do – rather than resort to cheating.
Even if Barisic had the faintest of touches on Edouard, it wasn’t enough to bring him down. He made his mind up to try and win a penalty as soon as he gathered the ball.
Collum was absolutely spot on. Well done to him.