By Mike Slater

14th Feb, 2021 | 8:00am

Tommy Wright shares contradicting referee claim from Rangers 1-0 win v Killie

Kilmarnock boss Tommy Wright has claimed that referee Don Robertson admitted that he made a mistake in Rangers 1-0 win on Saturday.

Leon Balogun appeared to trip Killie substitute, Danny Whitehall, towards the end of the clash, but penalty claims were waved away.

Wright has shared that Robertson claimed it was a foul, but not a penalty, two claims that appear to contradict each other.

Speaking to the Glasgow Times, Wright admitted that the officials admitted that they could have made a mistake at Ibrox.

“At normal speed, it looks like a penalty,” he said.

“But I have seen it back, slowed down, and it was just outside the box so somehow he has got the right decision.

“But he has told our players that it was a foul and not a penalty. So I am still, 40 minutes after the game, trying to work that one out.”

This one is strange, but we will take it.

It is about time that the Bears were given something rather than having something go against them, who knows? The compliance officer may still charge Balogun – a joke, of course.

Rangers may have got the win, but they were nowhere good enough today.

Should Robertson have given the free-kick or penalty, or whatever this “foul” would have amounted too, Balogun could have been in trouble, as well as his side.

The Bears need to start turning their dominance into more goals in games and save us all from those nervous final moments each week.

In other Rangers news, Steven Gerrard lauds Steven Davis in 1-0 win v Kilmarnock